MercyTheKitty Rants











{Tue, Dec 1549, '09}   10 Things People Don’t Know

So… here are some facts I find rather irksome that I would like to share with you. Because I know you all care.

  1. Sound Travels: When I’m walking in the school hallway 5 feet in front of you, believe it or not, I can hear you talking about me.
  2. Sound Continues to Travel: When I turn around (see 1) and say “I can hear you,” it doesn’t help to talk quieter. I still know you’re talking about me.
  3. Bipolar: To be bipolar does not mean to have sudden, drastic mood swings. I have no idea where that ridiculous idea came from. To be bipolar means to have a range of emotions from depression to some kind of euphoria within a short period of time.
  4. Short Periods of Time: A short period of time (see 3) is a few years.
  5. Low Pants: I’m not sure why anyone likes to see your boxer-clad butt when you bend down to pick up something you dropped. And it’s not really the hottest thing ever when you accidentally pull your shorts down doing curl-ups in phys. ed. class. (true story)
  6. Internet Privacy: The internet is not private. Umm… duh. For example: “Hey, what’s the math homework?” “Hey, how’d you get my cell number? Stalker!” “You posted it on facebook, idiot.” “Aaaah! You hacked my account!” “Nooo, your cell phone number is on your profile. Anyone can see it.” “What the heck!??! Why are you talking to me, stalker?
  7. Your Fault: “My teacher is so mean! She gave me a detention for chewing gum. AGAIN!” Well, you know that you aren’t supposed to chew gum in class… and you know you’re gonna get punished for it… so… why are you chewing gum in class? That applies to other things, too.
  8. Reading Books: Books are actually fun to read, in case you didn’t know. They’re like tv except with more possibilities. Writing, too. As long as you read about something you’re interested in, it’s fun. Like, you don’t play games you hate or watch shows that are dumb, right?
  9. Foreign Language: No, I’m not talking about math class. Foreign language class is very important, so stop insulting the teacher by saying it’s stupid. And if it’s so stupid, then I can only assume you’re such a master that it bores you. Let me be the first to tell you there’s a difference between (Spanish) “¿Qué pasa” and “cabeza,” “tú” and “usted,” and “aquí” and “allí.” “Ropa” is not rope, and “sopa” is not soap.
  10. Typing: Okay… why is it that I’m typing in complete sentences, using punctuation, not abbreviating words, and capitalizing and you claim you’re smarter than me. “your not tipin wright wen u spel lyke this.” “u suc @ typin if u do dis” “aaaaaandddddddd thisssssss isssss juuuuussstttttt annnoyiiinggggg.”

This is my opinion, and if you have a problem with it, then I have a problem with you.

Have a nice day! 😀

Update: Here’s some more that I decided to throw in…

  1. When Juilet says “wherefore art thou, Romeo,” she’s not asking where he is. She really means “why are you Romeo,” as in why did you have to be born into this unaccepted family, or why did fate bring our families apart when we want to be together? That sort of thing.
  2. It’s not really funny to scream “swiiine!” when someone coughs, or even randomly. And it never was. In fact, I find it offensive: Offensive to people with the influenza, offensive to people who know others with the influenza or whom have died from the influenza, offensive to people at risk for getting the influenza, scientists working to cure the influenza, etc. There’s a difference between being mean and being funny.
  3. Believe it or not, but this next one comes up a lot. There’s a difference between a baritone horn, a tuba, a trumpet, a french horn, a saxophone, and pretty much every and any instrument. There’s even a difference between the bari and a euphonium!
  4. Being born with black hair and dark eyes does not mean the person is emo. Wearing black clothes doesn’t make them goth. Being reserved or shy does not make them depressed. Wearing long sleeves does not mean they cut themself. Get these crazy assumptions and stereotypes out of your head!
  5. Other people do not speak with accents– you’re the one that does. Think about it.
  6. If you’re going to sing with your earbuds in, please make sure you can hear yourself. You may THINK you have the voice of an angel, but everyone else thinks you’re tonedeaf.
Leave a Reply

et cetera
