MercyTheKitty Rants











{Mon, Oct 2659, '09}   Calix

Okay… So I’m sitting at home, doing homework, minding my own business. For the millionth time today, I decided to visit my good ol’ buddy, twitter dot com. I am currently following @dictionarycom because I like to read the words of the day. This is what I found on my homepage:

@dictionarycom post

 

 

I’m on this RPG site my friend created, and I decided to make a new character. While browsing for names on Babynames dot com, I found the name “Calix” and I liked it. That was just a few days ago.

The meaning of the name Calix is  Very Handsome  The origin of the name Calix is Greek

So… as a name, Calix means Very Handsome… but as a word, it means a chalice or a cup? So… Calix is a handsome cup?

Stupid coincidences.

 

In other, semi-related news, my sister and I started having a discussion about my guitar. She’s convinced I should name mine… I don’t really want to, because that’s just not how I roll. (I’m sorry, I was suddenly possessed and felt the need to say that…) Well, that’s my sunburst beauty down there:

 

My Guitar

I was in favor of the name Calix, because it sounds so perfectly guitar-ish, right? But my sister seems to have this weird obsession with the Greek and Roman gods, so she INSISTED on the names Diana, Minerva, and Athena. I still like Calix.

 

Although I have about a whole 0 views on this site, here’s a poll for you guys:

 

I’m hoping that worked… Anyways, if you don’t like Athena/Minerva/Diana, or you have a different name for me, feel free to comment below.

Vote for CALIX!

Sorry for all the media on this post… I just figured out how to do that… XD

Ciao!

Note, 10-14-10: I get so much spam on this post… WHY!??! I just started deleting it…

Note, 11-2-10: Now my spam has become almost generic, “this isn’t spam” comments. Strangely enough, these comments seem to appear on days when I have no blog views…

Love your site man keep up the good work



hello do you have any other info like this one? im doing a presentation for my class and I need reference links to place on our college page. think it will be alright if we refer to this domain from the school blog for reference purposes?



Limitations live only in our minds. But if we use our imaginations, our possibilities become limitless. Great Post!



Great site, figured out a few new things! Subscribed RSS for later, hope to see more updates like this one.



When I started my blog about a month ago, I wasn’t even aware this existed, but what a lesson! I screen every comment and I’m concerned about the amount of effort this will take if the volume increases substantially. When it’s not clear, I’ve googled the comment verbatim, and it normally shows up in dozens of other blogs’ posts. As you say, they’re typically generic comments with links to (sometimes bizarrely) unrelated sites. My personal favorite example so far was a glowing appraisal of my reasoning skills, which was submitted to a post of a picture of a monkey, and linked to a site discussing the dangers of lasik eye surgery.



Anonymous says:

You posts reviews are awesome, I love reading, here’s my first comment, thank you!



Anonymous says:

very well



I typically do not submit in Blogs but your blog forced me to, awesome function.. gorgeous



Darby Macgillivray says:

Thanks for sharing. Share is caring after all.



Mario Snow says:

Thanks for some great thoughts there. I am kind of new to the internet , so I printed this off to put in my file, any better way to go about keeping track of it then printing?



You could favorite/bookmark the page depending on which browser you’re using. (basically, save the link)



Comments are closed.

et cetera
